Your Employer Owes You The Minimum Wage
In California, employers must pay their workers an hourly rate of at least $11. However, some employers try to avoid paying their employees even this small figure. If your employer is not paying the minimum wage to which you are entitled, you deserve to seek compensation and hold them accountable.
Moon & Yang, APC, advocates for workers in Los Angeles and elsewhere in California whose employers have violated minimum wage laws or other wage and hour laws. We can work to ensure that you receive the minimum wage, obtain back pay for your past work and recover compensation for your damages.
Understanding California’s Minimum Wage Laws
- Employers with 25 or fewer employees must pay a minimum wage of $11 per hour
- Companies that employ 26 or more people must pay $12 per hour
Los Angeles has a slightly higher minimum wage than other California cities. In Los Angeles:
- The minimum wage for a company with 25 or fewer employees is $12 per hour.
- For employers with 26 or more employees, it is $13.25 per hour.
What About Waitstaff And Salaried Employees?
The minimum wage law applies to all workers in the state. This includes servers in the hospitality industry and employees who receive a salary. In California, an employer may not count a server’s tips as a credit toward the minimum wage. And any fixed salary must meet the minimum hourly wage.
Talk To A Lawyer About Your Wages In A Free Consultation
If you think that your employer has violated the state’s wage and hour laws, contact Moon & Yang, APC. In a free, confidential consultation, our attorneys can assess your case. Then, we can help you seek the compensation you deserve — including back pay.
To get your consultation, call 213-232-3128 or send us an email.